What a week!

What a week! Really, I have nothing exciting or interesting to share here today, but I want to get into the habit of posting so I must stop my cross stitch project for a few minutes and blog. Last week was incredibly eventful not in a good way for our country and I am hoping this week is very uneventful. The town of West, Tx is about 18 miles from where I live and I feel so awful for those people. I saw on the news today that they have a curfew, they have to stay in their homes from 7pm to 7am. They didn’t really say why though. Also, 350 homes have no water and the entire town has a boil water warning. They do not know when they will have safe and clean water again as many seals on the underground pipes where damaged during the explosion. 

As for me, I have been cross stitching the top to a lap quilt and I am getting close to finishing the top, the end is in sight. My kids have 6 weeks of school left and summer vacation is starting to work it’s way into their heads. Homework is getting harder to get to, playing outside  for hours at a time for middle child who can not get enough of his friend Payton, who, apparently is the coolest kid in the neighborhood! My oldest son is longing to get monthly subscriptions to various on-line games again and to stay up all night playing them. My daughter is excited to have her brothers home again to play with. 

My thoughts are with the people of Boston and the people of West, the memorial for the many firefighters that lost their lives will be on Thursday. I would like to take my children to it so they can understand what true hero’s they were, many of them were volunteers. 

Anyway, enjoy the day everyone because it is a beautiful one and tell you’re friends and family how much they mean to you. If I can find the link to the town of West, I know they are in need of gift cards for those people in the town that were asked to get rid of all food products for fear of contamination. If I can find the link, I will post it. It’s difficult to find just because of the towns name. Image

One thought on “What a week!

  1. You know..just earlier tonight I mentioned to my husband how sometimes there are no bad news for almost months on end, and then all of the sudden it is as if the world just goes through this crazy phase again. Boston..Texas, the shootings in Russia to name but a few horrific insidents that have happened in less than a week.

    My heart goes out to the people you mentioned, on the flip side it is in times such as these after big tragedies that people rally together and give out a helping hand.

Leave a comment