Adventures in Felting

For a while now I have been seeing books on Felted creations. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to try to learn this interesting technique. I bought a book, felting and needles and I excitedly got home and got to work. I watched you tube videos and read the book I bought and it looked so easy!

It’s not so easy! Fun, oh yes! I love the feel of the felt roving, love the colors and I love being able to puncture it with sharp little needles. It takes a long time and patience to do it though. It’s a time consuming hobby and I love it! I only wish I could do it! It is so hard! The people on the YouTube videos and the books, they make it look so easy, but it really is not, at least for me. I have trouble making perfect ball shapes and I know it’s my own completely uncoordinated fault.  

I must keep practicing and I know that I will eventually “figure it out”. I really want to but it’s so easy to get discouraged. However I have used the felting to make a mustache for one of my creations and today, I finished my bat by adding a felted tail onto the back of him. They did turn out cute but I just don’t know how long they will be able to stay attatached since it is so easy for them to pull apart. 

I decided to make a simply cupcake that was in the book I bought and it turned out pretty good, only looks like some type of tart. I am not sure what kind due to the color choices I made, I suppose it is a lime tart with a chocolate drop on top. How I made it was putting the yellow felting inside a mini cupcake tart and felting it inside as a kind of mold. Then I added a dab of green felt to give it some color and to practice attaching another color. I thought it needed a little something else so I added a tiny brown ball as a chocolate drop. Then, I took it out, of the metal tin and using hot glue to add the mini cupcake liner. It turned out pretty cute. 

Here are some lessons I have learned the hard way…

1. When felting into a metal tin…the needles WILL break if push it all the way to the bottom. The bottoms of the needles will make a snapping sound and then you must remove the broken needles from the creation because they have tiny barb’s on them and they WILL hurt someone. 

2. It takes a long time to felt the shape, be patient and eventually it will work. 

3. It takes practice! I wish I could go take a class somewhere and have someone personally help me, but YouTube videos are a great help. 

4. Do not pull on the felting to soon to see if it’s attached all the way, because it will come off and you will have to start again. 

I have a feeling it is well with the practice and hopefully, in time I will start to “get it”. 

Good luck! If you have any tips for me, I would greatly appreciate it!Image

 

Leave a Reply

